Wrestling With Russell’s Reasons – – 1

I am really attracted to the Questioning Christian. Maybe at some point in my life I will be able to listen to the Blind Faith Christian, but for now, it makes me feel good that others have questions or doubts and are seeking the answers. Like this person.

russell & pascal

512px-Rembrandt_-_Jacob_Wrestling_with_the_Angel_-_Google_Art_Project

Dear Russell & Friends,

Today begins an attempt to reply to Russell’s reasons for not following Christ.  The icon above is a Rembrandt circa 1659 entitled Jacob Wrestling with the Angel.  It depicts the biblical story from Genesis 32.  That story about Jacob’s life has always had meaning for me.  God allows us to, even encourages us to wrestle with him.  He did not create automatons and your intellect does matter.  I have wrestled with many things in faith.  Sometimes I win the match.  Sometimes I lose.  I always come out better for the struggle, and like Jacob, I still limp.  Russell and I talked yesterday and agreed on a general format for going forward.  I’ll try to reply to one reason each week.  As the reasons unfold you’ll see that we could spend a year on each one or even an academic career.  That is neither feasible nor desirable for…

View original post 889 more words

Leave a Reply

